LibGuides: Library Resources: Genealogy

Genealogy

What is Genealogy?

"To forget one's ancestors is to be a brook without a source, a tree without a root." Chinese proverb

Genealogy is becoming increasingly popular across the world, as individuals seek to connect with their past. Paul H. Thompson Library is host to books, databases, and some artifacts that could prove useful to budding and experienced genealogists alike. From books such as, The 55th North Carolina in the Civil War: A History and Roster, and The Civil War and Yadkin County, North Carolina: A History with Contemporary Photographs and Letters, to local collections of Vietnam Veterans' experiences at war, the Paul H. Thompson Library and Archive is a treasure trove waiting to be used.

Note: Paul H. Thompson Library, its staff, and the institution of Fayetteville Technical Community College do not support or endorse the use of any of the sites listed on this page. Please use caution when dealing with sites requiring subscriptions and remember to always protect your account information and identity.

Books Available In Library

Genealogy for Beginners

Author: Pennavaria, Katherine 1959 -

Publication Date: [2020]

Call Number: CS16 .P443 2020

Roots Quest: Inside America's Genealogy Boom

Author: Hogan, Jackie

Publication Date: [2019]

Call Number: CS9 H64 2019

Genealogy Standards Second Edition

Author: Ancestry.com (Firm)

Publication Date: [2019]

Call Number: CS8.5 .B38 2019

Professional Genealogy

Author: Mills, Elizabeth Shown

Publication Date: 2018

Call Number: CS9 .P762 2018

Futureface

Author: Wagner, Alex

Publication Date: [2018]

Call Number: CT275 .W2233 A3 2018

Mastering Genealogical Documentation

Author: Jones, Thomas W., Ph.D.

Publication Date: 2017

Call Number: CS14 .J67 2017

The Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy. 4th Edition

Author: Greenwood, Val

Publication Date: 2017

Call Number: CS47 .G79 2017

Ancestors: Who We Are and Where We Come From

Author: Hertzel, David

Publication Date: 2017

Call Number: CS14 H48 2017

A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your Immigrant and Ethnic Ancestors

Author: Carmack, Sharon DeBartolo, 1956-

Publication Date: [2000]

Call Number: CS49 .C384 2000

FTCC Databases

Biography and Geneaology Master Index (Gale)
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is unquestionably the best place to begin your search for biographical information. It allows you to quickly determine where to find biographical material on people from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor. It indexes current, easily accessible references sources, as well as important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
by Gale (Gale-Cengage)
History Study Center
History Study Center is an online resource providing a vast collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. It is suitable for a wide range of users, from high school students looking for quick and reliable facts on a historical topic, to researchers examining hard-to-find primary source texts.
News (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: News is a full-text newspaper resource providing access to major U.S. regional, local, and national newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Local Resources

FamilySearch - Cumberland County, NC
"The FamilySearch Research Wiki is a free, online genealogical guide created and maintained by FamilySearch, a non-profit organization. It contains links to genealogy databases, websites, other resources, research strategies, and genealogical guidance to assist in the search for your ancestors. Articles included are locality pages for countries around the world and topic pages that include pertinent genealogy record types explaining how to use the record, what it contains, and how to find it." - Taken from website.
Cumberland County NC Genealogical Society
"The Cumberland County Genealogical Society (North Carolina) was established in January 1984 to encourage and facilitate genealogical research in the county. " - Taken from website.
Cumberland County Public Library Local and State History
"Almost anything concerning North Carolina and Cumberland County, past or present, can be found in the Local & State History Department. The department’s two collections, North Carolina Reference and Genealogy Reference." - Taken from website.

State Resources

Access Genealogy - North Carolina Geneaolgy
"This North Carolina state page of our website provides direct links to major databases and historical titles and information found on North Carolina genealogy and history, whether they exist on our site, or across the web." Description taken from site. 7-day free trial.
Family Research Society of Northeastern North Carolina Facebook Page
The Family Research Society of Northeastern North Carolina, Inc. (FRSNNC) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that was incorporated in 1992. The primary purpose of FRSNNC is to collect, research, preserve, and exchange genealogical and historical information pertaining to the counties of Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank and Perquimans.
Carolinas Genealogical Society of Monroe, NC
"Carolinas Genealogical Society is a non-profit organization chartered in 1964 for the purpose of gathering, compiling, publishing and preserving historical (records)." - Taken from website.
Carolinas Genealogical Society Webpage
"The Carolinas Genealogical Society is a non-profit organization chartered in 1964 for the purpose of gathering, compiling, publishing and preserving historical and genealogical records of Union County and surrounding counties of Anson, Mecklenburg in North Carolina. We also have a limited number of records for Lancaster and Chesterfield Counties of South Carolina . We are a non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization located in Union County which was formed in 1842 from portions of Mecklenburg and Anson counties. Monroe is the county seat." - Taken from website.

National Online Resources

BillionGraves.com
"BillionGraves is the world′s largest resource for searchable GPS cemetery data, and is growing bigger and better every day. You can help by collecting headstone images from local and other cemeteries, and then by transcribing the personal information found on the images." Description taken from site.
Chronicling America - Library of Congress
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present." Description taken from site.
Family Tree Magazine
This site provide tips and tricks to help both the novice and the expert conduct genealogical research. Requires free account to use.
Heritage Quest
This site allows the user to search Census Records, Books, City Directories, and more for free. If this link does not work, then please use the one on our homepage!
National Archives - Access to Archival Databases
Use this link to browse passenger lists, prisoners of war, photographs, and more ranging from 1800-present.
National Archives - Resources for Genealogists
This page from the National Archives provides links to popular topics, tools, and events for genealogists, as well as providing reports, guides, and service records.
USGenWeb Project
"The USGenWeb Project is a group of volunteers working together and having fun providing free online genealogy help and information for every U.S. state and county. Our national site provides links to state sites, which, in turn, provide gateways to the counties." Description taken from site.
Find a Grave
"At Find A Grave you’ll find details about cemeteries and individual memorials for many people buried in those cemeteries. Memorials generally include birth, death and burial information and may include pictures, biographies, family information and more." Description taken from site.
U.S. Department of the Interior - Bureau of Land Management
"Provides live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. We also have images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records. Due to organization of documents in the GLO collection, this site does not currently contain every Federal title record issued for the Public Land States." Description taken from site.

A-Z Databases	Faculty Suggestions
Full list of databases the library subscribes to including those with trial access.	Faculty requests and suggestions for our print collection are strongly encouraged, and are given the highest priority when funds are available. Fill out and return to your Library Liaison.

Library Resources

Citation Format Websites

Questions to Ask and Pedigree Charts

What is Genealogy?

Books Available In Library

Genealogy for Beginners

Roots Quest: Inside America's Genealogy Boom

Genealogy Standards Second Edition

Professional Genealogy

Futureface

Mastering Genealogical Documentation

The Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy. 4th Edition

Ancestors: Who We Are and Where We Come From

A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your Immigrant and Ethnic Ancestors

FTCC Databases

Local Resources

State Resources

National Online Resources