LibGuides: Library Resources: Archive Instruction Activity for the Classroom

Using Archives for Classroom Instruction

Archive Instruction Session

What is the Archive Box Activity?

The archive activity box is an instructional session where students can engage in a hands-on lesson on how to research and use primary and secondary archive resources. The boxes for the activity will encompass items from the Paul H. Thompson Library Archives such as yearbooks, scrapbooks, photographs, technology devices, pamphlets, and more. Other resources include the digital FTCC archives on Omeka. Students will then answer questions or complete a small assignment to engage them in the research knowledge they have acquired through the activity.

How to Book an Archive Session

How to Book a Session:

Instructional archive sessions are a collaborative activity that can be tailored to fit an instructor’s course. Instructors should reach out to the Archives Librarian on how to request a session and plan for their classes’ archival activity.

These sessions can be conducted in-house at the library, in a classroom on campus, or off-campus at an area high school. Sessions should be booked in advance to allow time for planning.

For more information or to book a session contact:

Megan Williams

Instruction & Archives Librarian

williamme@faytechcc.edu

How the archive activity can be conducted:

1. Instructors can create their own in-class assignment based on the archive materials provided

2. The Archive Librarian can provide a short Q & A worksheet for students to complete as they are exploring the archive materials.

Primary Resources

What is a Primary source?
Learn about what primary and secondary sources are from the U.S. Library of Congress.
Library of Congress Digital Collection
A free digital collections of periodicals, newspapers, photographs and more from the Library of Congress.
National Archives
Explore documents, records, and photographs from the National Archives of the United States.
FTCC Archives & Oral Histories
Explore the history of Fayetteville Technical Community College through photographs, oral histories, scrapbooks, yearbooks, and other special collections.
State Archives of North Carolina
Find photographs, records, periodicals, and more from the State Archives of North Carolina.
New York Public Library
Find archival resources from across the world from the New York Public Library collection.
British Museum
Find a diverse collection of photos, maps, ancient artifacts, and more from across the world through the British Museum collection.

Library Databases

NCLive
Remember to choose Fayetteville Technical Community College as your institution and the password provided by your librarian.
Literature (Gale)
Gale Literature is an integrated (cross-search)research experience that brings together Gale's premier literary databases. The cross-search allows researchers of all levels to find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information. Currently, users can cross-search these collections with Gale Literature:
Gale Literature Criticism - one of the largest, most extensive compilations of literary commentary available
Gale Literature Resource Center - up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world
LitFinder - a wealth of literary works, including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
Subcollections of eBook titles - including Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors
Dictionary of Literary Biography - signed scholarly essays that provide essential context to understand the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and all parts of the world
Something About the Author - engaging biographies of classic, contemporary, and emerging authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature
Contemporary Authors - current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors
Films on Demand (Digital Education Video)
Offers more than 20,000 educational titles that are neatly grouped into convenient, subject-specific categories. Overview provided by Infobase Learning.
U.S. History (Gale in Context)
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.
World History (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.