LibGuides: Interpreter Education: Home

Interpreter Education

The Interpreter Education curriculum prepares individuals to work as entry-level Sign Language Interpreters who will provide communication access in interview and interactive settings. In addition, this curriculum provides in-service training for working interpreters who want to upgrade their skills.

FTCC partners with Blue Ridge Community College (BRCC) to offer the Interpreter Education program. Students can take classes on FTCC’s campus through the North Carolina Information Highway and online courses.

Course work includes the acquisition of American Sign Language (ASL); grammar, structure, and sociolinguistic properties; cognitive processes associated with interpretation between ASL and English; the structure and character of the deaf community; and acquisition of consecutive and simultaneous interpreting skills.

-FTCC

Program Specific Resources

NC Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
The North Carolina Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NCLBPH) is a special public library that circulates books and magazines especially made for persons who cannot use regular printed material because of a visual or physical disability.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) conducts and supports research and research training on normal and disordered communication processes, including diseases affecting hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language
American Annals of th Deaf (Journal)
For 150 years, the American Annals of the Deaf, has been a professional journal dedicated to quality in education and in related services for children and adults who are deaf and hard of hearing. The Annals publishes articles about deaf education and recent research into trends and issues in the field of deafness.

General Databases

CQ Researcher
Provides full-text online access to resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and social science data analysis. Overview provided by Sage.
Issues & Controversies
This article database contains timely, in-depth articles covering complex issues with pro and con statements for each side of the controversy. Overview provided by InfoBase.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes, with particular focus on immediate social issues. Overview provided by Gale-Cengage.
SIRS
This database provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities. Overview provided by ProQuest.
NCLive
Remember to choose Fayetteville Technical Community College as your institution and the password provided by your librarian.

Books Available in the Collection

A-Z Databases	Faculty Suggestions
Full list of databases the library subscribes to including those with trial access.	Faculty requests and suggestions for our print collection are strongly encouraged, and are given the highest priority when funds are available. Fill out and return to your Library Liaison.

Interpreter Education

Librarian

Books in the Catalog

Citation Format Websites

Interpreter Education

Program Specific Resources

General Databases

Books Available in the Collection