LibGuides: Religion 211: Home

Religion 211 - Old Testament Resource Guide

Welcome!

This is a course guide for Religion 211 - Old Testament Course

Please use these subject specific databases to find academic journal articles and other references for your assignments.

Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy is a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, this library resource supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.
Religion Database
Religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history and related archaeology.
Religion Database (NC Live)
Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Finding Books

Please use the library catalog to search print material in our library. Click here to search the FTCC's library catalog for print books. NC Live provides many eBook sources; please use your Blackboard username and password to access the eBooks through NC Live.

Some Bible commentaries are listed below. You may find commentaries in print or eBook.

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by Mark J. Boda (Editor); J. Gordon McConville (Editor)
Call Number: BS1505.55 .D53 2012
ISBN: 0830817840
Publication Date: 2012-05-17
The Infographic Guide to the Bible: the Old Testament by Hillary Thompson; Edward F. Duffy; Erin Dawson
Call Number: BS1140.3 .T46 2017
ISBN: 1507204876
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
The Jewish Bible by David Stern
Call Number: BS1130 .S74 2017
ISBN: 9780295741482
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
The Baker Illustrated Bible Commentary by Gary M. Burge (Editor); Andrew E. Hill (Editor)
Call Number: BS491.3 .B35 2012
ISBN: 9780801013089
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Leviticus by Jay Sklar
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780830895861
Publication Date: 2014-01-30
The Psalms by John H. Eaton
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781441100405
Publication Date: 2003-01-12

Finding Articles

NC Live
NC LIVE offers free electronic access to resources for all ages on topics ranging from careers, business, and investing, to health, history, and genealogy. Ebooks, audiobooks, videos, magazines, newspapers, journals, language-learning tools, and other online materials available through NC LIVE.

General Databases

CQ Researcher
Provides full-text online access to resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and social science data analysis. Overview provided by Sage.
Issues & Controversies
This article database contains timely, in-depth articles covering complex issues with pro and con statements for each side of the controversy. Overview provided by InfoBase.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes, with particular focus on immediate social issues. Overview provided by Gale-Cengage.
SIRS
This database provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities. Overview provided by ProQuest.
NCLive
Remember to choose Fayetteville Technical Community College as your institution and the password provided by your librarian.

Religion 211

Keywords for Research

Citation Format Websites

APA Cheat Sheet