Paul H. Thompson Library: Funeral Service Education: Home

Funeral Service Education

"The Funeral Service Education curriculum provides students with the opportunity to become proficient in basic funeral service skills. In addition to the general education courses offered in the curriculum, technical courses such as human anatomy, embalming theory and practice, embalming chemistry, restorative arts, funeral law, and funeral home operations are taught." Taken from FTCC's Funeral Service Education website.

Program Specific Databases

Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users. Overview provided by Gale-Cengage.
Human Anatomy (Gale Interactive) This link opens in a new window
An innovative learning aid for the study of Human Anatomy that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive examination of systems and regions of the body.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable, healthcare reference e-source that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools covering nursing, EMS, dental hygiene/assisting, and so much more, all in one location.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Updated daily, this library resource supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues. Overview provided by Gale-Cengage.

NC Live

General Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and social science data analysis. Overview provided by Sage.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This article database contains timely, in-depth articles covering complex issues with pro and con statements for each side of the controversy. Overview provided by InfoBase.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
SIRS This link opens in a new window
This database provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities. Overview provided by ProQuest.
NCLive This link opens in a new window
Remember to choose Fayetteville Technical Community College as your institution and the password provided by your librarian.