The Paul H. Thompson Library is committed to providing a usable and accessible experience for all members of the FTCC community. Our website and online resources are designed with the principles of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and WCAG 2.0 in mind.
Library staff are available to help all students with basic research and library instruction. Students who need more in-depth, one-on-one support with library services or accessibility tools may request an appointment with the Book-a-Librarian (BAL) service. Please call 910-678-8247 to arrange a BAL.
We also provide assistance in retrieving materials for students with disabilities.
The Merlin Elite Pro is a tool in the Paul H. Thompson Library that helps people with low vision read printed materials. It has a large screen and a powerful camera that makes books, papers, and images look bigger and clearer. You can zoom in up to 70 times and choose from different color and contrast settings.
Merlin can also read text out loud. You can place a page under the camera, press a button, and Merlin will scan the page and speak the words to you. You can choose from different reading voices.
This machine is helpful for reading textbooks, mail, forms, and handouts. Library staff can show you how to use it and lend headphones for hearing narration.
A Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT) is a standardized document that explains how well a digital product—such as a database, software platform, or web tool—conforms to accessibility standards like Section 508 and the WCAG guidelines. VPATs help institutions evaluate whether the resources they provide are usable by all members of their community, including individuals with disabilities. They are especially important in higher education, where compliance and equitable access are essential. Below, I’ve compiled links to the VPATs provided by the vendors of the databases we subscribe to, so you can quickly review the accessibility commitments and features of each product
| Resource / Group | Vendor / Platform | Accessibility / VPAT Information |
|---|---|---|
| Access Video On Demand Streaming video via Infobase |
Infobase | Films On Demand Accessibility Statement & VPAT |
| BoardVitals NCLEX & health sciences exam prep |
BoardVitals | Accessibility / VPAT available from vendor on request. |
| Credo Reference | Credo | Credo Accessibility Statement |
| Data Axle Reference Solutions | Data Axle | Data Axle VPAT (Reference Solutions) |
| Digital Theatre+ | Digital Theatre+ | Digital Theatre+ Accessibility Statement |
| EBSCO Databases & EBSCO eBooks | EBSCO |
EBSCO VPATs / Accessibility Conformance Reports
EBSCOhost / EDS Accessibility Statement |
| Films on Demand (Digital Education Video, Allied Health, AI, Nursing Core) |
Infobase | Films On Demand Accessibility Statement & VPAT |
| Gale Databases OneFile, In Context, Literature, Gale eBooks |
Gale (Cengage) | Gale / Cengage VPAT List |
| hoopla | Midwest Tape |
hoopla Accessibility Information
(VPAT available via NC LIVE or vendor on request) |
| JSTOR | ITHAKA / JSTOR | JSTOR Accessibility & VPATs |
| Morningstar Investing Center | Morningstar | Morningstar VPAT (Investment Research Center) |
| NC LIVE Gateway for state-licensed resources |
NC LIVE + Vendors | NC LIVE Accessibility & Vendor VPATs |
| OverDrive / Libby (Dogwood Digital Library) | OverDrive | OverDrive / Libby Accessibility & VPATs |
| ProQuest Databases & Ebook Central | ProQuest |
ProQuest Platform Accessibility & VPAT
ProQuest Accessibility Directory (All VPAT/ACRs) |
| R2 Digital Library | Rittenhouse | R2 Digital Library VPAT |
| Social Explorer | Social Explorer | Social Explorer Accessibility & VPATs |
| Stat!Ref | TDS Health (Teton Data Systems) |
STAT!Ref VPAT (copy hosted by SUNY)
(Vendor provides most current ACR on request.) |
| StatPearls | StatPearls | Accessibility / VPAT available on request from vendor. |
| TrojanQuest (Summon Discovery Layer) | Ex Libris (Clarivate) | Summon (TrojanQuest) Accessibility Statement & VPAT |
| Transparent Language Online | Transparent Language | Transparent Language VPATs (Learner & Admin portals) |
| Visible Body | Visible Body |
Visible Body Accessibility Information
(Formal VPAT available via vendor/Ovid) |
| Westlaw Classic Used by FTCC Paralegal Program |
Thomson Reuters | Thomson Reuters Digital Accessibility (Request VPAT) |
Microsoft Office and Windows include features that make them more accessible for all users. Microsoft includes Narrator, a built-in screen reader, with Windows 7 and higher. Some of the features of the Narrator include reading things from the touch screen, reading Excel spreadsheet cells, and being compatible in Microsoft Outlook.
Microsoft Office 365 programs include the option to scan documents for accessibility. This feature is available on the ribbon by selecting the Review tab, then clicking the "Check Accessibility" button. (In Outlook, the Review tab is visible in the ribbon when writing or replying to messages.)
The library has two adjustable-height workstations to accomomdate users in wheelchairs.
Students who need accommodations or extra support can find more help at FTCC Disability Support Services (DSS), located in the Tony Rand Student Center, Room 127.
Contact DSS at 910-678-8559 or email ada@faytechcc.edu.
© 2025 Paul H. Thompson Library, Fayetteville Technical Community College